Awards recognise what is best about Australia

Nanjing Night Net

Honour: 2016 Australian of the Year David Morrison outside Parliament House, Canberra. Photo: Andrew Meares

Eachyear, Australia Day marks a time to celebrate the achievement and contribution of eminent Australians.

As well as localised awards ceremonies by councils and communities around the country, January 26 is also when the nation recognises achievement through the Australian of the Year Awards.

The awards are announced in Canberra on January 25, the eve of Australia Day.

Australian of the Year Awards profile citizens who are role models for all, inspire through achievement and challenge others to make their own contribution to creating a better Australia.

This advertising feature is sponsored by the following businesses. Click on this links to learn more:

Barossa CouncilMember for Wakefield Nick ChampionMember for Barker Tony PasinMember for Stuart Dan Van Holst PellekaanSince its inception in 1960, the Australian of the Year Award has been a focal point of national Australia Day celebrations.

The awards honour an exceptional group of highly-respected Australians who ignite discussion and change on issues of national importance.

Those honoured offer an insight into Australian identity, reflecting an evolving relationship with the world, the role of sport in Australian culture, the impact of multiculturalism and the status of Australia’s Indigenous people.

The awards operate at two levels – state/territory and national – with nominees put forward by members of the community.

State and territory selection committees select four finalists for each award category, with one of these finalists becoming the recipient of the state/territory award.

Those eight recipients from each state/territory then become the national finalists for the awards in each of the four categories.

The National Australia Day Council Board selects the Australians of the Year from the group of 32 state and territory recipients.

AwardsThe awards presented on Australia Day are:

Australian of the Year: These leading citizens shape our nation, inspire us, and are role models for us all.

Senior Australian of the Year: First presented in 1999, it recognises those Australians aged 65 and over who continue to achieve and contribute.

Young Australian of the Year: Awarded since 1979, it recognises those aged 16 to 30 who are outstanding and exceptional young Australians.

Australia’s Local Hero: Introduced in 2003, the award acknowledges extraordinary contributions made by Australians in their local community.

NominationsNominations for the 2018 Australian of the Year Awards are now open.

For more information about the awards process or to submit a nomination, visit梧桐夜网australianoftheyear.org419论坛/.

Related content:

Barbecues sizzle away on national dayCitizens unite at Aus Day eventsCelebrate Australia DayThis story Administrator ready to work first appeared on Nanjing Night Net.

Comments are closed.